Guide: Using a subdomain with Minecraft server

The place to discuss Namecheap.com's domain registration services and domain names in general

Guide: Using a subdomain with Minecraft server

Postby hoppsan4 » Sun Jan 15, 2012 11:18 am

How to set up a sub-domain to point at your Minecraft Server.

Hey, I thought I would share this information to anyone else who are wondering how to point a sub-domain to your IP using namecheap. I struggled a bit with this and I finally figured it out.

This is my first post in this forum so I hope I do this correctly.

NOTICE: To make this guide work, you MUST FORWARD and USE the minecraft default port on your server which is 25565. This is explained at the bottom :)

Complete noob guide! Real easy!

Step 1
Log in to your namecheap account.
Image

Step 2
Go to your domain settings
Image

Step 3
Click on your domain
Image

Step 4
Go to the "All host records" under "Host management" tab in the side panel thing.
Image

Step 5
Enter your subdomain in the first text box and your IP in the next (Note, ONLY THE IP and not the port). Set the Record Type in the drop-down list to "A (Address).
It should turn out like this:
Image

Step 6
Click save settings.
Image

Step 7
Open Minecraft
Image

Step 8
Log in
Image
And click "Multiplayer"
Image

Step 9
Click "add server" and enter your information.
Image

Step 10
Enjoy playing minecraft on your subdomain :)
Image


Questions:

Q)Why aren't there any port?
A)Minecraft automatically checks for port 25565. If you run your server on the default minecraft port, minecraft would automatically check for that port which would connect to your minecraft server. This leaves you and your players with great ease on connecting to your server with an easy to use / remember server address.

Q)This didn't work
A)Make sure you wait an hour or so. Changes might not be instant and it would take some time for the changes to take effect.

Q)I have waited 1 hour and it still does not work
A)Make sure your port 25565 is correctly forwarded and your server is running on this port. Also if you have some sort of windows server OS, make sure you allow the ports in the firewall.

Thanks for reading, and hope this helped! :)
hoppsan4
Registered User
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2012 10:29 am

Re: Guide: Using a subdomain with Minecraft server

Postby GoldenWrapper » Mon Feb 20, 2012 11:49 pm

What happens if it's not on the default port? How would I configure this?
GoldenWrapper
Registered User
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 11:48 pm

Re: Guide: Using a subdomain with Minecraft server

Postby Tesrym » Tue Feb 21, 2012 9:05 pm

I too want to use another port.
By "want to" I mean "forced to", so I hope there is a way to make domain.xxx become xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:port?
Tesrym
Registered User
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2012 9:01 pm

Re: Guide: Using a subdomain with Minecraft server

Postby hoppsan4 » Tue Feb 21, 2012 10:02 pm

If you are unable to use the default port you will have to add the port in the end of the domain. This is to my knowlege and if anyone has any other way of doing that I would love to know too. I guess it would have to be some sort of A-Record forward or something to make it the port default. Perhaps try google :)

Good luck!

Edit: Perhaps check with your minecraft game server hoster if they have their own way to configuring it. Ask around on servers with the same host maybe. :)
hoppsan4
Registered User
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2012 10:29 am

Re: Guide: Using a subdomain with Minecraft server

Postby Tesrym » Wed Feb 22, 2012 6:50 pm

It isn't possible to include ports in A-records here.
Error message results in "invalid IP" :(
And I have contacted my minecraft hoster about changing the port to default.

I'm adding more service ports later, so it would be best to find some kind of workaround.
I have heard it is possible to create a server-in-the-middle that redirects.
But what software do I have to use to redirect minecraft clients?
Tesrym
Registered User
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2012 9:01 pm

Re: Guide: Using a subdomain with Minecraft server

Postby joe2108 » Sun Sep 30, 2012 8:15 pm

Whenever I try using my subdomain it goes to another minecraft server. port :30072
joe2108
Registered User
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2012 8:12 pm

Re: Guide: Using a subdomain with Minecraft server

Postby StasT » Mon Oct 01, 2012 9:14 am

Hello,

Whenever I try using my subdomain it goes to another minecraft server. port :30072

As we can see the sub-domain for your domain has been properly pointed to the IP address specified in the 'All Host Records' section for your domain name. Please be advised to double check the settings on the server side.

It isn't possible to include ports in A-records here.
Error message results in "invalid IP"
And I have contacted my minecraft hoster about changing the port to default.

Yes, unfortunately it is not possible to include a port in the A record on our end at this time. Please use the domain in the following format: sub.domain.com:port.

Thank you.
Stas
Namecheap.com
StasT
Namecheap Staff
 
Posts: 271
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2011 8:22 pm

Re: Guide: Using a subdomain with Minecraft server

Postby Tobstah » Sat Dec 28, 2013 10:51 pm

At step 4, I can't find the link where is says 'All host records'.
Please help!
Tobstah
Registered User
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2013 10:49 pm

Re: Guide: Using a subdomain with Minecraft server

Postby MaryS » Sun Dec 29, 2013 4:02 am

Tobstah wrote:At step 4, I can't find the link where is says 'All host records'.


Hello,

The option can be missing if the domain is using third party hosting nameservers as 2 your domains. The option is available for the domains using our default nameservers only.

The nameservers can be changed of course to our default ones, but please note that there will be a propagation of up to 24+ hours since the date of change and the records to connect the domain to your hosting provider (like A address) are to be created then as well.

Hope this helps.

Best regards,
Mary S.
Namecheap.com
Best regards,
Mary
Namecheap.com
MaryS
Namecheap Staff
 
Posts: 373
Joined: Fri Apr 16, 2010 4:31 pm

Re: Guide: Using a subdomain with Minecraft server

Postby mrmdkrocks » Thu Jan 09, 2014 3:21 am

If I set the IP as something before my IP is changed, I am waiting for my Server Provider to do it, would it automaticly change in the future?
mrmdkrocks
Registered User
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 3:21 am

Next

Return to Domain Names

Need help? We're always here for you.

× Close